Career Services

IAU's Career Services consists of assisting students with resume writing, tips and interview techniques, advising of job openings and professional development workshops.

IAU's programs do not prepare graduates for a specific occupation or employment and does not provide formal career planning services. All students are encouraged to speak with the staff, faculty, and instructors regarding career and professional planning. IAU will provide a list of employers who have contacted the University offering employment opportunities.

Students can find new employment opportunities on IAU's Job Openings Page.

Career Assessment Tools

Utilizing these tools can help you target the specific position, work environment that best suits you. These sites provide tests and assessment tools to make career searching more productive.  Each of the sites are free to use without obligation to sign-up for the service.

  1. Capella's Career Exploration video playlist
  2. MAPP Career Assessment Site: www.assessment.com
  3. Ten Free Career Assessment Tools: www.monster.com/career-advice/article/best-free-career-assessment-tools
  4. O*Net Resource Center: www.onetcenter.org
  5. Career One Stop: www.careeronestop.org/
  6. eLearning Planner: http://elearningplanner.learnkey.com
  7. Career College: http://www.careercolleges.com/career-assessment-test
  8. Career Fitter: http://careerfitter.com
  9. California Career Cafe: www.cacareercafe.com
  10. iSeek Careers: www.iseek.org
  11. My Next Move: www.mynextmove.org

F-1 Visa / Working in the U.S.A.

If you are a foreign national, be aware of your employment eligibility and limitations. Please consult the following resources:

  1. F-1 International Students Working in the United States
  2. IAU's F-1 Handbook (SEVP)
  3. IAU's F-1 Services: CPT and OPT Work Authorization
  4. Social Security Number
  5. Tax Status / Filing Services

Interview Advice

There are many resources out there to help you prepare for an upcoming job interview. Here are a few resources to get you started.

  1. Monster.com - Ace the Interview: http://career-advice.monster.com/job-interview/careers.aspx
  2. TheLadders.com - Interview Q&A: www.theladders.com/career-advice
  3. TheGuardian.com - Interview Advice: https://jobs.theguardian.com/careers/interview-advice/
  4. Manila Recruitment Interview Guide - How to Prepare for a Job Interview Infographic: http://www.manilarecruitment.com/manila-recruitment-articles-advice/how-to-prepare-for-a-job-interview-infographic/

Job Search Engines

A job search engine collect job listings from all over the internet to help you find the job that's right for you. These employment sites can also offer career and job-search advice, employer reviews, and describe different job descriptions or employers.

  1. After College: www.aftercollege.com/
  2. Business Week: http://jobs.businessweek.com/a/all-jobs/list/q-mba/l-los+angeles,+ca
  3. Career Bliss: www.careerbliss.com/
  4. Career Builder: www.careerbuilder.com/
  5. College Recruiter: www.collegerecruiter.com/
  6. Career Rookie: www.careerrookie.com/
  7. Glass Door: www.glassdoor.com
  8. Indeed: www.indeed.com
  9. Idealist: www.idealist.com
  10. Intern Jobs: www.internjobs.com/
  11. InternMatch - https://www.looksharp.com/
  12. Internships: www.Internships.com
  13. LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/?trk=
  14. Monster: http://career-advice.monster.com/
  15. Neuvoo: http://neuvoo.com/en
  16. Simply Hired: www.SimplyHired.com
  17. USA Jobs: www.USAJobs.com
  18. Entry Level Jobs: https://www.entryleveljobs.net/ or https://local.job-applications.com/
  19. AptoZen: https://www.aptozen.com/

Resume Writing